Simian Ghost

Richard IMK: The first album was entirely Sebastian’s project, would you say that the whole band is now involved in the creative process for the next album?

Sebastian Simian Ghost: Yes, I’d say we’ve all been equally involved in writing the new record. We wrote it in the “studio”, or Mathias basement that is, this summer.
A lot of it stems from old ideas from the times we’ve worked together before,
rewritten to fit the new album.

IMK Can you describe your influences and what inspires you to make music?

SG: I’m influenced by a lot of bands and artists. Mostly not so much musically as I am influenced by peoples method of working, their view of the world etc etc.
I like people who make art their own, not caring so much what big companies and
institutions think of it. I’ve always had kind of a punk attitude towards my work.
People even call me radical at times, but I don’t know about that. The arts belong to
the people, and in realising that you have to be able to work with people of different approaches to the world as well.

IMK: You recently made the move from your hometown of Sandviken to Stockholm, how has this move changed things for you as a band, do you think it was a must to base the band in a city?

SG: We are in the midst of moving right now, so it’s hard to say how it will change things.
Not too much i think, except that we get a “little closer to the action” I guess. But it
definitely wasn’t a must. Stockholm is nice, but it’s not the center of the world. Nowhere is.

IMK: Sebastian, I see that you received the Bo Linde scholarship for your work as a musician in the Gävle region. How did this help you progress as a musician and did it give you the freedom and time to develop the talent you had?

SG: It gave me some money to throw around during the recording of our new album, so that was awesome!

IMK: What do you think of the state of Swedish music today?

SG: That’s a hard one to answer. There’s a lot of Swedish music. Some I like, some I don’t.
I guess that’s the way it has always been. Kind of nervous and very self-aware.

IMK: Can you give us any tips of new Swedish acts we should be looking out for?

SG: You should check out Light Vibes (of course). Wild Invalid is good too,
I just wish he would get his shit together and release an album already. YAST is nice,
a very 90’s indie band from Malmö.

Leave a comment